Japanese Journal of Applied Physics
Vol. 56, No. 4S, Apr. 2017
: Solid State Devices and Materials

Please access the following link:
The papers in this special issue are open access for one year from the publication.

This special issue focuses on the 2016 International Conference on Solid State Devices and Materials (SSDM2016) held at Tsukuba International Congress Center, Tsukuba, Japan, from September 26 to 29, 2016, under the sponsorship of the Japan Society of Applied Physics. The purpose of the conference was to bring together scientists and engineers active at the forefront of solid state devices and materials development and to discuss the latest progress in their respective fields. Through deep discussions, the conference also acted to promote science and industry related to solid-state electronics. SSDM2016 covered a broad area of research and development of significant innovation/improvement of devices and materials, and processing technologies. The 2016 program featured 3 plenary talks, 74 invited papers, 210 contributed oral papers, 163 posters, and 70 late news papers. The conference topics are listed below:

  • 1) Advanced LSI Processing and Materials Science
  • 2) Interconnect Technologies and 3D Integration/Sensor/MEMS Integration/Materials and Characterization
  • 3) CMOS Devices/Device Physics
  • 4) Advanced Memory Technology
  • 5) Advanced Circuits and Systems
  • 6) Compound Semiconductor Electron Devices and Related Technologies
  • 7) Photonic Devices and Related Technologies
  • 8) Advanced Material Synthesis and Crystal Growth Technology
  • 9) Physics and Applications of Novel Functional Devices and Materials
  • 10) Organic Materials Science, Device Physics, and Applications
  • 11) Sensors and Materials for Biology, Chemistry and Medicine
  • 12) Spintronics Materials and Devices
  • 13) Applications of Nanotubes, Nanowires, and Graphene
  • 14) Power Devices and Materials
  • 15) Photovoltaic Materials and Devices

This special issue, published in April, 2017, includes submitted papers by authors who presented their results at the conference, and had their manuscripts accepted in time for publication through the regular reviewing process of the Japanese Journal of Applied Physics (JJAP). The papers are presented as progress review papers, regular papers and brief notes. We sincerely hope that readers who are working in the field of advanced solid state devices and materials will find this special issue interesting, stimulating and useful.


  • Satoshi Iwamoto (The University of Tokyo)
  • Hiroyuki Kageshima (Shimane University)
  • Koji Kita (The University of Tokyo)
  • Ippei Akita (Toyohashi University of Technology)
  • Masahisa Fujino (The University of Tokyo)
  • Yuzo Fukuzaki (Sony)
  • Shunta Harada (Nagoya University)
  • Yukinobu Hikosaka (Fujitsu Semiconductor)
  • Dai Hisamoto (Hitachi)
  • Masashi Ikegami (Toin University of Yokohama)
  • Kenchi Ito (Tohoku University)
  • Kuniyuki Kakushima (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  • Haruichi Kanaya (Kyushu University)
  • Kenichi Kawaguchi (Fujitsu)
  • Akihiko Kikuchi (Sophia University)
  • Kentaro Kinoshita (Tottori University)
  • Kenya Kobayashi (Toshiba)
  • Kazunobu Kojima (Tohoku University)
  • Rihito Kuroda (Tohoku University)
  • Yasuyoshi Kurokawa (Nagoya University)
  • Keiichi Maekawa (Renesas Electronics)
  • Toshiharu Makino (AIST/National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology)
  • Takeo Minari (NIMS/National Institute for Materials Science)
  • Toshitaka Miyata (Toshiba)
  • Rai Moriya (The University of Tokyo)
  • Takahiro Nagata (NIMS/National Institute for Materials Science)
  • Osamu Nakatsuka (Nagoya University)
  • Nobuhiko Nishiyama (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
  • Junsaku Nitta (Tohoku University)
  • Akira Oiwa (Osaka University)
  • Tamotsu Okamoto (National Institute of Technology, Kisarazu College)
  • Shinichi Saito (University of Southampton)
  • Toshitsugu Sakamoto (NEC)
  • Toshiya Sakata (The University of Tokyo)
  • Toshihiro Shimada (Hokkaido University)
  • Kazuo Sukegawa (Socionext)
  • Toshi-kazu Suzuki (JAIST/Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Tetsuya Taima (Kanazawa University)
  • Hidekuni Takao (Kagawa University)
  • Norikatsu Takaura (Hitachi)
  • Mayumi Takeyama (Kitami Institute of Technology)
  • Tetsu Tanaka (Tohoku University)
  • Hirokazu Tatsuoka (Shizuoka University)
  • Kunio Tsuda (Toshiba)
  • Kazuhiko Yamamoto (Toshiba)